Monday, March 29, 2010

Gorilla Vs. Bear and Weekly Tapedeck form Record Label

Two of our favorite bloggers have teamed up to give a little back to the music world. They've announced the formation of Forest Family, an analog centered label featuring limited runs (with the occasional repress) of 7”s, 10”s, 12”s and cassettes to be produced at the highest quality.

The label's first release is a 7" from highly touted indie poppers Cults featuring the songs "Go Outside" and "Most Wanted" on yellow vinyl.

You can pre-order the 7" HERE. Ltd. to 400

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Peaking Lights on Soundbuilders

RSTB fave Peaking Lights explain the process of building their soundbox synthesizers out of thrift store parts for the new series Soundbuilders on VBS offshoot This is the first in a series that will explore musicians creating noise out of non-traditional sources. A splendid idea if you ask us and a pretty great band to start with. Check out Aaron and Indra explaining their process and keep an eye on Soundbuilders for more installments.

Monday, March 22, 2010

Beach Fossils - "Wide Awake"

Beach Fossils record four awesome new songs from their upcoming Captured Tracks/Woodsist debut for the Insound Studio Sessions. Check out "Wide Awake" and the rest of the sessions at Insound.

Friday, March 19, 2010

Awesome new Ty Segall video

Its not very often that a video perfectly encapsulates the way you feel about a song. "So Alone" is probably one of our all time favorite songs around here and this fan video by Russian director tab_ularasa is quite honestly just what we've always wanted to do when listening to Segall's music. Would that we could I suppose. Check out a whole bunch more videos's Tab's done for RSTB faves UV Race, Thee Oh Sees, Country Teasers and more at his Vimeo Page

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Thee Oh Sees go Epic

Thee Oh Sees
Warm Slime
Out 5/11 (In The Red)

1. Warm Slime
2. I Was Denied
3. Everything Went Black
4. Castiatic Tackle
5. Flash Bats
6. Mega-feast
7. MT Work

The ridiculously prolific Bay Area band Thee Oh Sees are back with another full-length long-player. Warm Slime is guaranteed to please fans of their whacked-out garage / psych / punk jams.

Recorded by Sacramento sultan of sound Chris Woodhouse, Warm Slime carries on in the same tradition as the group's previous In The Red release, Help, showcasing their more electrified and rocking side, in comparison to other recent home-recorded releases. The centerpiece is undoubtedly the mind-bending title track, which clocks in at nearly 14 minutes and takes up the entirety of the album's first side. It's a psychedelic epic of "Inna Gadda Da Vida" proportions! John Dwyer's guitar playing is at its quadra-spazzed best here, and the vocal interplay with Brigid Dawson gives it a B-52s-at-their-least-cheesy-crossed-with-the-Troggs vibe. The results are stunning.

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Sun Araw - On Patrol

Album details on the upcoming Sun Araw record have arrived. Its a 2xLP titled On Patrol and will be released sometime in April. Tracklisting and awesome trailer below. Needless to say we're excited to hear this!

THE STAKEOUT (feat. William Giacchi)


THE STAKEOUT: REPRISE (feat. William Giacchi)


Thursday, March 11, 2010

Moon Duo - Killing Time Video

Tuesday, March 09, 2010

Donovan Quinn & The 13th Month

Donovan returns with his solo outings outside of Skygreen Leopards this time finally securing a vinyl release from the good folks at Soft Abuse. Details below:

Side A
01. Winter in a Rented Room
02. Mom's House
03. Your Wicked Man
04. April Tenth
05. Street Fighting Girls

Side B
01. The Door Locks Itself
02. Leave Like You Came
03. Sylvia & the Gremlins
04. Red Corona
05. Open Flame

More info HERE.

Thursday, March 04, 2010

Sun Araw captured by Ray Concepcion

Ray Concepcion captured some footage from Sun Araw's recent stint at Coco 66 in Greenpoint. The show was fantastic (though I don't remember the room shaking quite so much) and if you weren't there, here's the next best thing.

Wednesday, March 03, 2010

Woven Bones LP Details!!!

Woven Bones
In and Out and Back Again
Out 5/18 (HoZac)

1. I'll Be Runnin
2. Guess You Allready Knew
3. 7 Year Mirror
4. If It Feels Alright
5. Your Way With My Life
6. Creepy Bone
7. Half Sunk Into the Seats
8. Couldn't Help But Stare
9. Blind Conscience

How awesome is that cover art? Words cannot express how exicted we are for this release. Needless to say this is tops on our most anticipated list!


New from Arbor


Ryan Garbes is the drummer of Iowa City bands such as Wet Hair, Dunebuggy, Trash Dog, and formerly Raccoo-oo-oon. His recordings under his own name represent a unique brand of solo multi-track recording with a seamless integrity; through a skillful use of instrumentation and recording technique, Garbes eschews notions of low fidelity for songs reminiscent of traditional American garage rock produced in the haze of an early 90’s UK aesthetic. Genuine pop songs, cloaked in a comforting wash of reverb, as if Lou Reed had done a record for Creation; more ecstatic than obstructed Garbes’ voice is a refreshing one outside the continuum of the contemporary four-track bedroom pop. In an edition of 300 copies with full color sleeve and printed labels by Ryan.

More information HERE

New from Night People

Broken Water
Whet LP

This is the debut LP by Olympia Washington 3 piece Broken Water. Consisting of former Sisters (Parts Unknown Records) and Celebration members, Broken Water's sound seems to resound in the rainy coastal woodlands that they are surrounded by. Dense walls of slow swirling distortion breath out into moments of cold syrupy magma and reverb drenched beauty. Droning post punk bass grooves build foundations for constantly evolving guitar riffing and somber vocal passages, a subtle psychedelic sound as heavy as it is lite, as dark as it is colorful, and as deep as it is wide. Broken Water's dreamy take on hazy pastoral sonic exploration is as unique as it is nostalgic and provides endless amounts of killer listening. Silkscreened artwork by Shawn Reed.

Dead Luke - "Cosmic Meltdown"

Faceplant - "s/t"

Baronic Wall - "The Golden Sword/In Granite Parlor"

Pink Priest - "Gulls Diving Into the Ocean"

The Pheromoans - "s/t"

More information HERE

Tuesday, March 02, 2010

New Release from Naked on the Vague

Australians Naked on the Vague follow up their Chitty Chat 7" on Sacred Bones with a full length out on Siltbreeze. Mark your calendars.

Naked on the Vague
Heaps of Nothing
4.27 (Siltbreeze)

1 Mysterious Oven
3 Treading Water
4 Sacred Youth
5 These Days
6 The Joke
7 Black Lettuce
8 Blank Minds

More Upcoming Releases from Captured Tracks

Wild Nothing
Release Date: March 2, 2010

Track Listing:
1. Cloudbusting
2. Promise

The Soft Moon
Release Date: March 2, 2010

Track Listing:
1. Breathe the Fire
2. Phantoms

Fresh & Onlys
Release Date: March 2, 2010

Track Listing:
1. Diamond in the Dark
2. Dreamin' Is Easy
3. Knowin' To Wander
4. August In My Mind
5. Garbage Collector
6. Save Your Soul

Dignan Porch
Release Date: March 30, 2010

Track Listing:
1. The Game We Made
2. As You Were
3. Flowers in May
4. Footsteps
5. On A Ride
6. Team Up
7. We Sat on the Hill
8. I am the Hedge (Interlude)
9. Like It Was
10. No Pressure Baby
11. A Person
12. Two of Us
13. I'm Certain I'll Die

Plus tons more on the way. Click HERE for details