Thursday, January 21, 2010

New HoZac on the way!

Following in the wake of the recently released Medications LP and singles from Mickey, Nerve City, Myelin Sheaths, Mess Folk and more the mighty HoZac pushes on with some hotly anticipated 2010 releases.

Expect new 7"s from Box Elders, Fey Gods, Burning Yellows, Hobby Girl and of course the upcoming LPs from Dum Dum Girls and Woven Bones. Be sure to keep your eyes on for all these and more in the coming months.

Wooden Shjips // Moon Duo

Two sides of the Shjips are almost upon us; first, full details about Vol. 2 the Sick Thirst singles collection have emerged and it's due out 3/30. Secondly the well loved (at least by RSTB) side project from guitarist Ripley has finally yielded a full length album. Escape is out 2/16. More details and pre-order information below:

Wooden Shjips - Vol. 2

Strap in for travels beyond the galaxy to tranced-out cosmic bliss! Sick Thirst presents Vol. 2, the second compilation of hard-to-find Wooden Shjips tracks. Vol. 2 digs deep to collect the band's Sub Pop and Mexican Summer singles, two self-released European tour singles, and a track from Yeti magazine, for nearly 44 minutes of fuzzed-out psych jams.

Not just for completists, Vol. 2 contains the essential live standards "Loose Lips," "Death's Not Your Friend (Live)", and "I Hear the Vibrations (E-Z Version)," plus savage covers of Neil Young's "Vampire Blues" and Serge Gainsbourg's "Contact."

1. Loose Lips
2. Start To Dreaming
3. Vampire Blues
4. Death's Not Your Friend (live)
5. Contact
6. I Hear the Vibrations (E-Z Version)
7. Outta My Head

Pre-Order: HERE

Moon Duo - Escape

San Francisco's Moon Duo was formed in 2009 by Sanae Yamada and Erik Johnson (Wooden Shjips). Inspired initially by the legendary John Coltrane and Rashied Ali, Moon Duo counts such variant groups as Silver Apples, Royal Trux, Moolah, Suicide, and Cluster as touchstones.

Utilizing primarily guitar, keyboards, percussion, and vocals, the pair plays space against form to create a primordial and disorienting sonic stew. They released two acclaimed records in 2009: the Love on the Sea 12-inch single on Sick Thirst and the Killing Time EP on Sacred Bones. Escape, their debut long-player on Woodsist, marks the fullest realization yet of the young group's evolving sound.

Pre-Order: HERE

Thursday, January 07, 2010

Happy Birthday // King Tuff

RSTB faves King Tuff have been signed by Sub Pop... sort of. Main Tuff driving force Kyle Thomas has put together a new band to showcase his comic book pop tendencies and if its got half the spirit and fun that KT had it's likely that it will be one hell of a record. The S/T album is out March 16th. Tracklisting is below.

1. Girls FM
2. Too Shy
3. Cracked
4. Perverted Girl
5. Subliminal Message
6. Eyes Music
7. Maxine the Teenage Eskimo
8. I Wanna Stay (I Runaway)
9. Pink Strawberry Shake
10. Zit
11. Fun

More info HERE